1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Students & Programs - Overview
  4. »Popenoe Fellowships
  5. »Fred Clute

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Fred Clute Scholarship

MS or PhD Graduate Student (~$1,000-3000 Scholarship)

This award was established by the family and friends of Fred N. Clute, and with the support of Rhodes Chemical Company. Mr. Clute (1932–2002) worked for Evans Orchard Supply Company in Kansas City before joining Rhodes Chemical Company in 1966. He spent most of his 36 years with Rhodes educating, training, providing customer service and support, and solving problems. His greatest satisfaction was in sharing his experience, knowledge and wisdom with others. He received many awards from the state pest control associations throughout the Midwest, and attended the Purdue Pest Control Conference no fewer than eighteen times. The kindness and generosity of Mr. Clute's family and friends in supporting the growth of our students is greatly appreciated!

This award is open to any graduate student in the KSU Department of Entomology. First preference will be given those with a specific interest or research project in Integrated Pest Management (IPM). The application packet will consist of:

  • A cover letter that addresses the student's specific qualifications for the award and includes the student's contact information
  • A letter of support from the students major professor
  • Two-page CV, with emphasis on integrated pest management
  • Graduate school transcripts and grades (unofficial transcripts are acceptable)
  • 1-2 page statement of how the students research advances the general concept of integrated pest management


According to the guidelines supplied by the KSU Foundation, the final approval of the recipient will be made by the General Scholarship Committee, who will act upon recommendations made by the departmental Awards Committee.


Scholarship Winners

2020Ivan GrijalvaBrian McCornack$1,000
2019Stephen LoseyBrian McCornack$1,600
2018Yinping LiRaymond Cloyd$1,000
2017Ryan SchmidBrian McCornack$3,000
2016JR EwingJeff Whitworth$1,000
2015Barbara AmoahTom Phillips$1,000
2014Alice HarrisBrian McCornack$500
2013Alysha SoperJeff Whitworth