1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Students & Programs - Overview
  4. »Popenoe Fellowships
  5. »O.W. Spide Morris

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

O.W. "Spide" Morris Award

Service Award (~$400-800 Scholarship)

This award was established by the family of O.W. "Spide" Morris to perpetuate the memory of Mr. Morris, who was a pioneer in the area of hydrogen phosphide fumigation in the United States, and was a lifelong resident of Kansas.

This award is presented to a KSU graduate student at the M.S. level who has made significant contributions to the Department of Entomology or the profession of Entomology through extracurricular activities; involvement in the Entomology Club, 4-H, committee assignments, assisting other graduate students or faculty members, student leadership, involvement in professional societies or other service. A student may have the award renewed a second year when funds are sufficient to allow it. The application packet will consist of:

  • A cover letter that addresses the student's specific qualifications for the award and includes the student's contact information 
  • A 1-2 page summary of the student's service accomplishments
  • Two-page CV, emphasizing the student's service
  • Graduate school transcripts and grades (unofficial transcripts are acceptable)
  • A letter of support from the students major professor; the letter must be submitted by the faculty member directly to the Awards Committee
  • A letter of support from another faculty member; the letter must be submitted by the faculty member directly to the Awards Committee


The Awards Committee will evaluate the applications and select the winner based on the overall contributions to service work while the nominee was a student in the Department of Entomology.


Scholarship Winners

2020Valerie NguyenKun Yan Zhu/Erin Scully$800
2019Matt HamblinSarah Zukoff/Kun Yan Zhu$400

Erick Mauricio Goes Cordeiro

John Krauska

Jim Nechols/Sarah Zukoff