1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Mudge Week
  4. »Mudge Week

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Mudge Week - 2018

On March 26-31, 2018, we celebrated our Annual Mudge Week. Benjamin Franklin Mudge (right) was one of the first faculty to teach at what was then the Kansas State Agricultural College, later Kansas State University, starting in 1865. He taught the first entomology course at Kansas State ("Insects Injurious to Vegetation"), and it was also the first economic entomology course taught anywhere in the United States. He also taught courses in astronomy, physics, meteorology, botany, zoology, physiology, mineralogy, geology, physical geography, agricultural chemistry, among others. He was beloved by students, so it is entirely appropriate that we have a week of student-centered activities named in his honor. To learn more about this remarkable man, read this memorial written two years after his death in 1879.


2018 Mudge Week Activities and Schedule

 26 Mar
  • 3-minute thesis competitions: MS Students and PhD Students. Guidelines for 3-minute thesisJudging Form. 1:00 to 2:30 pm, Throckmorton Hall. Pizza lunch will be provided. Top Phd and MS students will receive $100 cash award, and 2nd place PhD and MDS students will each receive $75 cash award.

27 Mar

  • Ice Cream Social for Department: 3:00 to 4:00 pm, Waters 126.  

 29 Mar

  • Hopkins Colloquium Speaker: Dr. Reddy Palli (University of Kentucky):
    • Luncheon with students at noon - Waters 126
    • Hopkins Seminar: at 1:00 pm in Union 231
26-30 Mar
  • Daily entomological/departmental trivia. Be the first one to answer correctly in person in the office to get a $5 cash prize on the spot!
31 Mar
  • Potluck Departmental Spring Social and Awards Luncheon at Konza Prairie (starting at 12:00 pm).

    • At the Social we will announce:
      - Scholarship recipients
      - Perry L. Adkisson Three-minute competition winners (MS and PhD)
      - Awards of Excellence for Administrative and Technical Support

  • And as if that weren't enough, the Popenoe Entomology Club will announce:
       - Club MVP (most valuable Popenoe)
       - Faculty of the Year

Perry L. Adkisson 3-Minute Thesis Winners:
MS1stGrace CraigieBrian McCornack $100
PhD1stRyan SchmidBrian McCornack$100
MS2ndRachel WilkinsKun Yan Zhu/Rachel Wilkins $75
PhD2nd Yinping LiRaymond Cloyd $75

Support Awards:
Excellence in Administrative Support Sharon Schroll$300
Excellence in Technical SupportXiaoli Wu $300


Scholarship Winners for 2018:
Lambley ScholarshipJessica Thomson Ludek Zurek/Dana Nayduch $800
Fred Clute Scholarship Yinping LiRaymond Cloyd $1,000
Floyd Holmes ScholarshipJacqueline MailleTom Phillips $5,000
Reginald H. Painter PhD Scholarship Paulina Maldonado RuizLudek Zurek $800
Joe Pankaskie ScholarshipAnastasia CooperKun Yan Zhu $2,000
Ramaswamy ScholarshipCatherine StewartMike Smith $1,000
Roger C. Smith PhD Scholarship Edwin AffulTom Phillips $1,000
Schendel-Mages ScholarshipMatt HamblinUndergraduate $1,000