1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Mudge Week
  4. »Mudge Week

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Mudge Week - 2019

Benjamin Franklin Mudge

On March 26-31, 2018, we celebrated our Annual Mudge Week. Benjamin Franklin Mudge (right) was one of the first faculty to teach at what was then the Kansas State Agricultural College, later Kansas State University, starting in 1865. He taught the first entomology course at Kansas State ("Insects Injurious to Vegetation"), and it was also the first economic entomology course taught anywhere in the United States. He also taught courses in astronomy, physics, meteorology, botany, zoology, physiology, mineralogy, geology, physical geography, agricultural chemistry, among others. He was beloved by students, so it is entirely appropriate that we have a week of student-centered activities named in his honor. To learn more about this remarkable man, read this memorial written two years after his death in 1879.


2019 Mudge Week Activities and Schedule

 1 Apr

  • 3-minute thesis competitions: MS Students and PhD Students. Guidelines for 3-minute thesisJudging Form

    • The event will start promptly at 1:00PM and conclude around 2:30PM in Throckmorton Hall (Rm#4031). Pizza lunch will be provided to competitors and judges starting at 12:30PM.
    • Top PhD and MS students will receive $100 cash award, and 2nd place PhD and MDS students will each receive $75 cash award.


  • Hopkins Colloquium Speaker: Dr. John Clark (University of Massachusetts):
    • Luncheon with students at 12:30PM - Waters 230
    • Hopkins Seminar will start at 4:00PM (refreshments at 3:45PM) – Waters 231

3 Apr

  • Linnaean “Cage Match” –Students VS Faculty
    • The first game will start at 1:30PM in Waters 328
    • Take a break from your normal routine and come watch as our Linnaean team take on our faculty, “Raging” Rob Morrison, Tom “The Terrorizer” Phillips, Kris “Silver Bullet”, and Brian “The Bruiser” Spiesman
4 Apr
  • Brain Break! 

    • Meet outside Waters Hall in the Quad at 1:00PM
    • If the weather is nice, we will have a bunch of yard games setup outside of Waters Hall. Come test your skills at Bocce Ball, Beanbag Toss (i.e., cornhole), and more. In case the weather does not cooperate, we will bring the competition indoors (WA126).
    • Is your favorite yard game not listed? Then bring it!

5 Apr 
  •  Departmental Gathering and Awards Ceremony
  • [Leadership Studies Building, Rm#126, starting at 10:00AM] 

    • Varsity Donuts, Radina’s Coffee, and juice will be served at 10:00AM to kick off an informal departmental social
    • At the Social we will announce:
    - Scholarship recipients
    - Perry L. Adkisson Three-minute competition winners (MS and PhD)
    - Awards of Excellence for Administrative and Technical Support
    • The Popenoe Entomology Club will also announce:
    - Club MVP (most valuable Popenoe)
    - Faculty of the Year
    - Phenotype Adornment Contest winners

1-5 Apr
    • Daily entomological/departmental trivia. Be the first one to answer correctly in person in the office to get a $5 cash prize on the spot!
Perry L. Adkisson 3-Minute Thesis Winners:
MS1stGrace Craigie  $100
PhD1stHannah Quellhorst $100
MS2ndRachel Wilkins  $75
PhD2ndPaulina Maldonado $75

Support Awards:
Excellence in Administrative SupportEvelyn Kennedy$300
Excellence in Technical SupportKiffnie Holt$300


Scholarship Winners for 2018:
Lambley Scholarship
Kyah Featherston

Fred Clute Scholarship Stephen Losey $1,000
Floyd Holmes ScholarshipPaulina Maldonado $5,000
Reginald H. Painter PhD Scholarship Hannah Quellhorst $800
Joe Pankaskie ScholarshipAnastasia Cooper $2,000
Ramaswamy ScholarshipAnastasia Cooper $1,000
Roger C. Smith PhD Scholarship Rachel Wilkins $1,000
Schendel-Mages Scholarship Valerie Nguyen $1,000