1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Mudge Week
  4. »Mudge Week

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Mudge Week - 2014

Benjamin Franklin Mudge

On 7-12 April 2014 we celebrated our Annual Mudge Week. Benjamin Franklin Mudge (right) was one of the first faculty to teach at what was then the Kansas State Agricultural College, later Kansas State University, starting in 1865. He taught the first entomology course at Kansas State ("Insects Injurious to Vegetation"), and it was also the first economic entomology course taught anywhere in the United States. He also taught courses in astronomy, physics, meteorology, botany, zoology, physiology, mineralogy, geology, physical geography, agricultural chemistry, among others. He was beloved by students, so it is entirely appropriate that we have a week of student-centered activities named in his honor. To learn more about this remarkable man, read this memorial written two years after his death in 1879.


2014 Mudge Week Activities and Schedule

7 April

  • Mudge Week Photo Scavenger Hunt underway - Every participating team or individual was required to submit a set of 15 images as described here, and the rules and submission instructions can be found here: Scavenger Hunt Rules.

7 April

  • Seminar: Shaden Kamhawi (NIAID/NIH): "Pertinence of sand flies in advancing Leishmania vaccine research: a tale of vector-transmission models and salivary proteins": 4 pm in Waters 041
9 April
11 April
  • Hopkins Colloquium Speaker: Dr, Claire Kremen (University of California, Berkeley):
    • Luncheon with students at noon
    • Hopkins Seminar: "Restoring pollinator communities and services in intensively managed agricultural landscape" at 1:30 pm in Cardwell 103
12 April
  • Potluck Departmental Spring Social and Awards Luncheon at International Grains Program Building (starting at 1:00 pm).
    • At the Social we announced:

- Scholarship recipients

- Perry L. Adkisson Three-minute competition winners (MS and PhD)

  • And as if that weren't enough, the Popenoe Entomology Club will announce:

- Club MVP (most valuable Popenoe)

- Faculty of the Year


Scholarship Winners for 2014:
Fred Clute Scholarship Alice Harris (PhD)$500 Alice Harris
Floyd Holmes ScholarshipBarbara Amoah (PhD)$500Barbara Amoah 
Reginald H. Painter Scholarship Darren Snyder (PhD)$400 Darren Snyder
Joe Pankaskie ScholarshipJosh Urban (PhD)$600Josh Urban 
Sonny and Gita Ramaswamy Scholarship Lina Aguirre-Rojas (PhD)$1,000 Lina Aguirre-Rojas
Roger C. Smith MS Scholarship Moustapha Soumaila Issa$500Moustapha 
Roger C. Smith PhD Scholarship Dong Hun "Andy" Kim$500Dong Hun Kim