1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Mudge Week
  4. »Mudge Week

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Mudge Week - 2016

Benjamin Franklin Mudge

On April 4-9, 2016, we will celebrate our Annual Mudge Week. Benjamin Franklin Mudge (right) was one of the first faculty to teach at what was then the Kansas State Agricultural College, later Kansas State University, starting in 1865. He taught the first entomology course at Kansas State ("Insects Injurious to Vegetation"), and it was also the first economic entomology course taught anywhere in the United States. He also taught courses in astronomy, physics, meteorology, botany, zoology, physiology, mineralogy, geology, physical geography, agricultural chemistry, among others. He was beloved by students, so it is entirely appropriate that we have a week of student-centered activities named in his honor. To learn more about this remarkable man, read this memorial written two years after his death in 1879.


2016 Mudge Week Activities and Schedule


4 April

  • Hopkins Colloquium Speaker: Dr. Bryony Bonning (Iowa State University):
    • Luncheon with students at noon
    • Hopkins Seminar: "Pea aphids and plant viruses: Molecular interactions and innovation" at 4:00 pm in Waters 328

6 April

  • Ice Cream Social for department: 12:30-1:30p.m., Waters 126. Come anytime and enjoy some chilly friendship!
7 April
9 April
  • Potluck Departmental Spring Social and Awards Luncheon at Konza Prairie (starting at 12:00 pm).

    • At the Social we will announce:
      - Scholarship recipients
      - Perry L. Adkisson Three-minute competition winners (MS and PhD)
      - Awards of Excellence for Administrative and Technical Support

  • And as if that weren't enough, the Popenoe Entomology Club will announce:
       - Club MVP (most valuable Popenoe)
       - Faculty of the Year

3-Minute Thesis Winners:

JR Ewing (1st in MS), Basak Coskun (2nd in MS), Jessica Thomson (1st in PhD), and Edwin Afful (2nd in PhD)

Support Awards:

Excellence in Administrative Support: Ruth Nihart
Excellence in Technical Support: Clint Bain
Special recognition for being nominated for President's Award for Excellence for University Support Staff: Sharon Schroll
Special recognition for being nominated for President's Award for Excellence for Unclassified Professionals: Frannie Miller


Scholarship Winners for 2016:
Fred Clute Scholarship  JR Ewing
Floyd Holmes Scholarship Salehe Abbar
Reginald H. Painter PhD Scholarship  Anastasia Cooper
Joe Pankaskie Scholarship Jessica Thomson
O.W. "Spide" Morris MS Scholarship Joe Krauska
Roger C. Smith PhD Scholarship  Erick Cordeiro
Schendel-Mages Scholarship Nathan Tolle (undergraduate minor)$400