1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Mudge Week
  4. »Mudge Week

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Mudge Week - 2017

Benjamin Franklin Mudge

On April 10-15, 2017, we celebrated our Annual Mudge Week. Benjamin Franklin Mudge (right) was one of the first faculty to teach at what was then the Kansas State Agricultural College, later Kansas State University, starting in 1865. He taught the first entomology course at Kansas State ("Insects Injurious to Vegetation"), and it was also the first economic entomology course taught anywhere in the United States. He also taught courses in astronomy, physics, meteorology, botany, zoology, physiology, mineralogy, geology, physical geography, agricultural chemistry, among others. He was beloved by students, so it is entirely appropriate that we have a week of student-centered activities named in his honor. To learn more about this remarkable man, read this memorial written two years after his death in 1879.


2017 Mudge Week Activities and Schedule

10 April

  • Ice Cream Social for Department: 2:30 to 3:30 pm, Waters 126.  

 11 April

  • Hopkins Colloquium Speaker: Dr. Fred Gould (North Carolina State University):
    • Luncheon with students at noon - Waters 137
    • Hopkins Seminar: at 4:00 pm in Waters 231
 13 April
15 April
  • Potluck Departmental Spring Social and Awards Luncheon at Konza Prairie (starting at 12:00 pm).

    • At the Social we announced (see below):
      - Scholarship recipients
      - Perry L. Adkisson Three-minute competition winners (MS and PhD)
      - Awards of Excellence for Administrative and Technical Support

  • Popenoe Entomology Club announced:
       - Club MVP (most valuable Popenoe)
       - Faculty of the Year - John Ruberson

Perry L. Adkisson 3-Minute Thesis Winners:
MS1stJ.R. EwingJeff Whitworth$100
PhD1stJessica ThomsonLudek Zurek/Dana Nayduch$100
PhD2nd (tie)Ryan SchmidBrian McCornack$75
PhD2nd (tie)Luaay KhalafMike Smith$75

Support Awards:
Excellence in Administrative SupportEvelyn Kennedy$300
Excellence in Technical SupportKent Hampton$300


Scholarship Winners for 2017:
Fred Clute Scholarship  Ryan SchmidBrian McCornack$3,000  
Floyd Holmes Scholarship Shelly WiggamGreg Zolnerowich/Brian McCornack$7,000  
Reginald H. Painter PhD Scholarship Yinping Li Raymond Cloyd$1,000  
Joe Pankaskie Scholarship Jessica ThomsonLudek Zurek/Dana Nayduch$3,000  
Roger C. Smith PhD Scholarship  Phil FredaYoonseong Park$1,000  
Schendel-Mages Scholarship Anastasia CooperKun Yan Zhu$1,000