Distinguished Alumni Award

This annual award was established in 1998 to honor alumni. The recipient is selected by the Department of Entomology from nominations of alumni to recognize their contributions to entomology. The recipient visits the department, interacts with students and faculty, presents a lecture, and receives a plaque with the designation “Distinguished Alumnus Award”.




Affiliation/Lecture Title

2017 Dr. Marlin Rice

Product Biology Technical Manager, Syngenta

"Forty years of entomology: Perspectives from across the spectrum of graduate school, academia, industry and professional society"

Marlin Rice
2016 Dr. Kenneth Sorensen

Professor Emeritus, North Carolina State University

"Honey bees, Buffalograss webworm and Sweetpotato weevil: Efforts over 50 Years"

Ken Sorensen
2015 Dr. Kirby Stafford

Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

"Ticks, Inquiries, and Insect Invasions"

Kirby Stafford
2014 Dr. Mustapha El-Bouhssini

Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research

"Biodiversity and Integrated Gene Management Program, International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA)"

Mustapha El-Bouhssini
2013 Dr. Raul Guedes

Federal University of Viçosa

“Insecticides in insects: Too Much of a Good Thing ....?"

Raul Guedes
2012 Dr. Terry Mize

FMC Corporation, North America Product Development Manager

"An entomologist's journey in the commercial world: expectations and realities of choosing a career with a multi-national crop protection corporation"

Terry Mize - Alumni Award
2011 Dr. Sue Blodgett Iowa State University, Department Chair of Department of Entomology Sue Blodgett
2010 Dr. Kanayo F. Nwanze International Fund for Agricultural Development (UN), President Nwanze
2009 Dr. Gary Brewer University of Nebraska, Department Head of Department of Entomology
2007 Dr. Robert A. Wirtz Entomology Branch of the Centers for Disease Control Bob Wirtz
2006 Dr. Dennis Calvin

Pennsylvania State University

"Using high-resolution climatology and weather data for field crop pest management and forensic investigation"

2005 Dr. Jeffrey Stuart Purdue University
2004 Dr. John Edman
2003 Dr. Aart van Schoonhoven
2002 Dr. Lee Halgren

Colorado State Colleges, Denver

"Bugs, Budgets and Bills - The unintentional and serendipitous journey of an entomologist"

2001 Dr. Larry Murdock

Purdue University

"An entomologist’s adventures in Africa: Simple technology for managing the cowpea weevil"

2000 Dr. James Webster


"32 years after KSU: Cereal leaf beetles, greenbugs, Russian wheat aphid, and the ARS"

1999 Dr. Perry Adkisson

Texas A&M University

"Beyond Kansas State University"

1998 Dr. E.A. Heinrichs

University of Nebraska

"World food security. What can entomologists contribute?"