1. K-State home
  2. »Entomology
  3. »Students & Programs - Overview
  4. »Perry Adkisson Three-Minute Thesis Awards

Department of Entomology

Department of Entomology
123 W. Waters Hall
1603 Old Claflin Place
Kansas State University
Manhattan KS 66506-4004

785-532-6232 fax

Extension Entomology--please call

 Entomology's 2025 Strategic Plan

Entomology 2025 Plan

K-State 150 logo

Like us and follow us:

Perry L. Adkisson Three-Minute Thesis Awards

Perry Adkisson

Dr. Perry L. Adkisson was born on a small cotton farm in Arkansas on 11 March 1929. He is Chancellor Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of the Texas A&M University System. After serving in the US Army during the Korean War, he enrolled in graduate studies and received an M.S. in Agronomy from the University of Arkansas and a Ph.D. in entomology from Kansas State University (1956). After a short stint at the University of Missouri (1956-57), he joined the faculty of Texas A&M University's entomology department in 1958, later serving as department head (1967-1978), Deputy Chancellor, and Vice President for Agriculture and Renewable Resources before being named Chancellor of the Texas A&M University System (1986-1990). Adkisson is the first person to be honored with all three of the world's major prizes in agriculture - the Alexander von Humboldt Award, the Wolf Prize, and the World Food Prize. He, along with Ray Smith, Harold Reynolds, Robert Van den Bosch, and many others developed what is now known as integrated pest management (IPM). Perry is a Past President (1974) and Fellow of the Entomological Society of America, and an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences.


3-minute thesis competitions: MS Students and PhD Students - Guidelines for 3-minute thesis; Judging Form


Three-minute Thesis Winners for 2013

3MT winners 2013

The winners of the first inaugural (2013) Three-Minute Thesis Competition were Ximena Cibils Stewart (1st Place, MS; left image), Jessica Kivett (2nd Place, MS; 2nd image from left), Shelly Wiggam-Ricketts (1st Place, PhD; third image from left), and Josh Urban (2nd Place, PhD; right image). The awards were presented by Dr. Tom Phillips, of the Graduate Affairs Committee.